AN ACT

To repeal section 174.020, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to names of certain colleges and institutions.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI, AS FOLLOWS:

Section A. Section 174.020, RSMo, is repealed and one new section enacted in lieu thereof, to be known as section 174.020, to read as follows:

174.020. 1. State institutions of higher education governed by sections 174.020 to 174.500 shall be named and known as follows: the institution at Warrensburg, Johnson County, shall hereafter be known as the "Central Missouri State University"; the institution at Cape Girardeau, Cape Girardeau County, shall hereafter be known as the "Southeast Missouri State University"; the institution at Springfield, Greene County, shall hereafter be known as the "Southwest Missouri State University"; the institution at Maryville, Nodaway County, shall hereafter be known as the "Northwest Missouri State University"; the [college] institution at St. Joseph, Buchanan County, shall hereafter be known as the "Missouri Western State [College] University"; the institution at Joplin, Jasper County, shall hereafter be known as the "Missouri Southern State University-Joplin"; and the college in the city of St. Louis shall be known as "Harris-Stowe State

College".

- 2. References in the statutes in this state to such institutions whether denominated colleges or universities in such statutes or whether said institutions are renamed in subsection 1 of this section shall continue to apply to the applicable institution.
- 3. Any costs incurred with respect to modifications of the names of the state colleges and universities specified in subsection 1 of this section shall not be paid from state funds.
- 4. When the conditions set forth in section 178.631, RSMo, are met, the technical college located in Osage County, commonly known as the East Campus of Linn Technical College, shall be known as "Linn State Technical College".