SECOND REGULAR SESSION

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 41

92ND GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVES CROWELL (Sponsor), TOWNLEY, STEVENSON, ERVIN, LIPKE, REINHART, SUTHERLAND, SHOEMAKER AND KING (Co-sponsors).

Read 1st time January 8, 2004, and copies ordered printed.

STEPHEN S. DAVIS, Chief Clerk

3148L.02I

JOINT RESOLUTION

Submitting to the qualified voters of Missouri an amendment repealing section 2(a) of article IX of the Constitution of Missouri, and adopting one new section in lieu thereof relating to the state board of education.

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring therein:

That at the next general election to be held in the state of Missouri, on Tuesday next following the first Monday in November, 2004, or at a special election to be called by the governor for that purpose, there is hereby submitted to the qualified voters of this state, for adoption or rejection, the following amendment to article IX of the Constitution of the state of Missouri: Section A. Section 2(a), article IX, Constitution of Missouri, is repealed and one new section adopted in lieu thereof, to be known as section 2(a), to read as follows:

Section 2(a). The supervision of instruction in the public schools shall be vested in a state board of education, consisting of [eight] six lay members and three members who are active classroom teachers. The six lay members shall be appointed by the governor, by and with the advice and consent of the senate[; provided, that]. The three active classroom

5 teachers shall be appointed pursuant to statute and shall serve only one three-year term,

6 except the terms of the first active classroom teacher appointees shall be from one to three

7 years, respectively. At no time shall more than [four] three of the lay members be of the same

EXPLANATION — Matter enclosed in bold faced brackets [thus] in this bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted in the law. Matter in boldface type in the above law is proposed language.

H.J.R. 41

- 8 political party. The term of office of each lay member shall be [eight] three years, [except the
- 9 terms of the first appointees shall be from one to eight years, respectively] with one
 10 reappointment possible. While attending to the duties of their office, members shall be entitled
- 11 to receive only actual expenses incurred, and a per diem fixed by law.