FIRST REGULAR SESSION HOUSE BILL NO. 29

93RD GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVES SCHAAF (Sponsor), WILDBERGER AND RUCKER (Co-sponsors).

Pre-filed December 1, 2004 and copies ordered printed.

STEPHEN S. DAVIS, Chief Clerk

0167L.01I

AN ACT

To repeal sections 174.020, 174.241, 174.251, 174.261, 174.324, and 174.450, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof six new sections relating to state institutions of higher education.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Sections 174.020, 174.241, 174.251, 174.261, 174.324, and 174.450, RSMo, 2 are repealed and six new sections enacted in lieu thereof, to be known as sections 174.020, 3 174.241, 174.251, 174.261, 174.324, and 174.450, to read as follows:

174.020. 1. State institutions of higher education governed by sections 174.020 to 2 174.500 shall be named and known as follows: the institution at Warrensburg, Johnson County, 3 shall hereafter be known as the "Central Missouri State University"; the institution at Cape 4 Girardeau, Cape Girardeau County, shall hereafter be known as the "Southeast Missouri State 5 University"; the institution at Springfield, Greene County, shall hereafter be known as the "Southwest Missouri State University"; the institution at Maryville, Nodaway County, shall 6 hereafter be known as the "Northwest Missouri State University"; the [college] institution at St. 7 Joseph, Buchanan County, shall hereafter be known as the "Missouri Western State [College] 8 University"; the institution at Joplin, Jasper County, shall hereafter be known as the "Missouri 9 10 Southern State University-Joplin"; and the college in the city of St. Louis shall be known as 11 "Harris-Stowe State College". 12 2. References in the statutes in this state to such institutions whether denominated 13 colleges or universities in such statutes or whether said institutions are renamed in subsection

14 1 of this section shall continue to apply to the applicable institution.

EXPLANATION — Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in the above bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted from the law. Matter in **bold-face** type in the above bill is proposed language.

H.B. 29

3. Any costs incurred with respect to modifications of the names of the state colleges and
 universities specified in subsection 1 of this section shall not be paid from state funds.

4. When the conditions set forth in section 178.631, RSMo, are met, the technical college
located in Osage County, commonly known as the East Campus of Linn Technical College, shall
be known as "Linn State Technical College".

174.241. 1. The board of regents of Missouri [Western] **Southern** State College shall consist of six members, who shall be appointed by the governor, by and with the advice and consent of the senate, and shall be responsible for the administration of the college. All persons appointed to the board of regents shall be citizens of the United States and shall have been residents of the state of Missouri for two successive years next preceding the date of their appointment, shall be residents of the district in which the college is located, and not more than three members of the board of regents shall belong to the same political party.

8 2. The term of service of the members of the board of regents shall be six years, the term 9 of one member expiring each year, except that of the members first appointed, one shall be 10 appointed for a term of one year, one for a term of two years, one for a term of three years, one 11 for a term of four years, one for a term of five years, and one for a term of six years. The 12 governor shall first appoint members to the board of regents prior to October 13, 1975.

174.251. 1. After August 28, 2005, the institution formerly known as Missouri Western State College at St. Joseph, Buchanan County, shall hereafter be known as the 2 3 "Missouri Western State University". Missouri Western State University is hereby designated and shall hereafter be operated as a statewide institution of applied learning. 4 The Missouri Western State [College located in St. Joseph, Buchanan County,] University is 5 6 hereby designated an open enrollment institution which shall provide associate [and] degree programs except as provided in subsection 2 of this section, baccalaureate degree programs 7 [which meet the needs of the citizens, businesses, and industries of its service area as defined in 8 9 section 174.010, as well as counties contiguous to Buchanan County], and graduate degree 10 programs pursuant to subdivisions (1) and (2) of subsection 2 of section 173.005, RSMo. 11 The institution shall develop such academic support programs as it deems necessary and 12 appropriate to an open enrollment institution [to improve the potential for success of its students] 13 with a statewide mission of applied learning. Consistent with the provisions of section 174.324, Missouri Western State [College] University is authorized to offer master's level 14 degree programs in accountancy, subject to the approval of the coordinating board for higher 15 16 education as provided in subdivision (1) of subsection 2 of section 173.005, RSMo. 17

2. Beginning July 1, 2011, Missouri Western State University shall discontinue any
 and all associate degree programs unless the continuation of such associate degree
 programs is approved by the coordinating board for higher education pursuant to

H.B. 29

20 subdivision (1) of subsection 2 of section 173.005, RSMo, by July 1, 2007.

174.261. The state of Missouri may provide the funds necessary to provide the staff, cost
of operation, and payment of all capital improvements commenced after July 1, 1977, for
Missouri Southern State College and Missouri Western State [College] University.

174.324. 1. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, Missouri Western State College
and Missouri Southern State University-Joplin may offer master's degrees in accounting, subject
to any terms and conditions of the Missouri state board of accountancy applicable to any other
institution of higher education in this state which offers such degrees, and subject to approval
of the coordinating board for higher education.

2. Any new master's degree program offered at Missouri Western State University,
Missouri Southern State University-Joplin, or any other public institution of higher education
in this state must be approved by the coordinating board for higher education pursuant to the
provisions of subdivision (1) or (2) of subsection 2 of section 173.005, RSMo.

174.450. The governing board of Central Missouri State University, Southwest Missouri State University, Missouri Southern State University-Joplin, Missouri Western State 2 University, and of each other public institution of higher education which, through the 3 4 procedures established in subdivision (7) or (8) of section 173.030, RSMo, is charged with a statewide mission shall be a board of governors consisting of eight members, composed of seven 5 voting members and one nonvoting member as provided in sections 174.453 and 174.455, who 6 shall be appointed by the governor of Missouri, by and with the advice and consent of the senate. 7 8 No person shall be appointed a voting member who is not a citizen of the United States and who 9 has not been a resident of the state of Missouri for at least two years immediately prior to such 10 appointment. Not more than four voting members shall belong to any one political party. The 11 appointed members of the board of regents serving on the date of the statutory mission change shall become members of the board of governors on the effective date of the statutory mission 12 13 change and serve until the expiration of the terms for which they were appointed. The board of regents of any such institution shall be abolished on the effective date of the statutory mission 14 change, as prescribed in subdivision (7) or (8) of section 173.030, RSMo. 15