## FIRST REGULAR SESSION HOUSE BILL NO. 285

## 93RD GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVES MARSH (Sponsor), WRIGHT (137), ROARK, DIXON, VIEBROCK, WASSON, WALTON, PARKER, VILLA, DENISON, BEARDEN, DEMPSEY, CUNNINGHAM (145), GOODMAN, RUESTMAN, HUNTER, NIEVES, LAMPE, SCHLOTTACH, PHILLIPS, DETHROW, RICHARD, STEVENSON, EMERY, WILSON (130), WOOD, WILSON (119), JACKSON, BIVINS, SCHNEIDER, DAVIS, KINGERY, MOORE, KUESSNER, ST. ONGE, YOUNG, FRANZ, KELLY, SATER, SCHOEMEHL AND JETTON (Co-sponsors).

Read 1st time January 20, 2005 and copies ordered printed.

STEPHEN S. DAVIS, Chief Clerk

## 1118L.01I

## AN ACT

To repeal sections 174.020 and 174.450, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof two new sections relating to Southwest Missouri State University.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Sections 174.020 and 174.450, RSMo, are repealed and two new sections 2 enacted in lieu thereof, to be known as sections 174.020 and 174.450, to read as follows:

174.020. 1. State institutions of higher education governed by sections 174.020 to 2 174.500 shall be named and known as follows: the institution at Warrensburg, Johnson County, 3 shall hereafter be known as the "Central Missouri State University"; the institution at Cape 4 Girardeau, Cape Girardeau County, shall hereafter be known as the "Southeast Missouri State 5 University"; the institution at Springfield, Greene County, shall hereafter be known as the 6 "[Southwest] Missouri State University"; the institution at Maryville, Nodaway County, shall hereafter be known as the "Northwest Missouri State University"; the college at St. Joseph, 7 8 Buchanan County, shall hereafter be known as the "Missouri Western State College"; the 9 institution at Joplin, Jasper County, shall hereafter be known as the "Missouri Southern State 10 University-Joplin"; and the college in the city of St. Louis shall be known as "Harris-Stowe State College". 11

2. References in the statutes in this state to such institutions whether denominated

<sup>12</sup> 

EXPLANATION — Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in the above bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted from the law. Matter in **bold-face** type in the above bill is proposed language.

colleges or universities in such statutes or whether said institutions are renamed in subsection14 1 of this section shall continue to apply to the applicable institution.

3. Any costs incurred with respect to modifications of the names of the state colleges and universities specified in subsection 1 of this section shall not be paid from state funds, and such a name change will not authorize establishment of new degree programs by procedures other than as established by statute, including approval by the coordinating board for higher education.

4. When the conditions set forth in section 178.631, RSMo, are met, the technical college
located in Osage County, commonly known as the East Campus of Linn Technical College, shall
be known as "Linn State Technical College".

174.450. 1. Except as provided in subsection 2 of this section, the governing board of Central Missouri State University, [Southwest] Missouri State University, Missouri Southern 2 State University-Joplin, and of each other public institution of higher education which, through 3 the procedures established in subdivision (7) or (8) of section 173.030, RSMo, is charged with 4 a statewide mission shall be a board of governors consisting of eight members, composed of 5 seven voting members and one nonvoting member as provided in sections 174.453 and 174.455, 6 7 who shall be appointed by the governor of Missouri, by and with the advice and consent of the 8 senate. No person shall be appointed a voting member who is not a citizen of the United States 9 and who has not been a resident of the state of Missouri for at least two years immediately prior to such appointment. Not more than four voting members shall belong to any one political party. 10 11 The appointed members of the board of regents serving on the date of the statutory mission change shall become members of the board of governors on the effective date of the statutory 12 13 mission change and serve until the expiration of the terms for which they were appointed. The 14 board of regents of any such institution shall be abolished on the effective date of the statutory 15 mission change, as prescribed in subdivision (7) or (8) of section 173.030, RSMo.

2. The governing board of Missouri State University, a public institution of higher 16 education charged with a statewide mission in public affairs, shall be a board of governors 17 of ten members, composed of nine voting members and one nonvoting member, who shall 18 19 be appointed by the governor, by and with the consent of the senate. The nonvoting member shall be a student selected in the same manner as prescribed in section 174.055. 20 21 No more than one voting member shall be appointed to the board from the same 22 congressional district, and every member of the board shall be a citizen of the United States 23 and a resident of this state for at least two years prior to his or her appointment. No more 24 than five voting members shall belong to any one political party.