HB 617 -- WATERSHED DISTRICTS (Kelly)

COMMITTEE OF ORIGIN: Conservation and Natural Resources

Currently, the counties of Douglas, Ozark, Webster, and Wright are members of the Upper White River Basin Watershed Improvement District. This bill excludes those counties from the watershed improvement district and allows those counties to be included within a watershed district upon the filing of a petition signed by at least 20% of the qualified voters of the county requesting inclusion and upon countywide voter approval at the next general election. The bill also eliminates provisions allowing for wellvolume monitoring and the licensing of septic system maintenance providers within a watershed district, eliminates the requirement that persons installing on-site sewage disposal systems be registered by the Department of Health and Senior Services, and requires the department to investigate only sewage complaints received from an aggrieved party or adjacent landowner and not those received from any two residents of the county.

FISCAL NOTE: No impact on state funds in FY 2006, FY 2007, and FY 2008.