HB 1532 -- Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program

Sponsor: Lembke

This bill revises the state vehicle emissions inspection program by creating a decentralized emissions inspection program in which only motor vehicle safety inspection stations and other entities certified by the Air Conservation Commission will conduct emission inspections. The program will apply consistently throughout the City of St. Louis and the counties of St. Louis, St. Charles, Jefferson, and Franklin.

Prior to September 1, 2007, the commission must develop a program which allows official emissions inspection stations to conduct onboard diagnostic testing on 1996 and newer vehicles. Before issuing a certificate of authorization to a prospective station, the commission must determine if the applicant will be properly equipped, has qualified emission inspectors, and meets other requirements specified by the commission. Official inspection stations which are certified will be allowed to repair motor vehicles to bring them into compliance.

The fee for an emission inspection will be \$15. Vehicle owners will not be charged an additional fee for a reinspection completed within 20 days, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays. The fee will only be waived if the reinspection is made by the station making the initial inspection. The Director of the Department of Revenue may verify a successful inspection electronically.

The commission must establish, by rule, a waiver amount equal to the waiver amount provided in the federal Clean Air Act and the regulations promulgated for the enhanced motor vehicle emissions inspection for all model year vehicles.

The bill exempts from the inspection requirements diesel-powered vehicles except light-duty, diesel-powered vehicles manufactured after 1996 with a gross vehicle weight rating of 8,500 pounds or less; new motor vehicles which have not been previously titled and registered for the two-year period following their model year of manufacture; vehicles which are engaged in interstate commerce and are proportionately registered with the Highway Reciprocity Commission; and motor vehicles driven fewer than 12,000 miles between biennial safety inspections. Vehicles which are inspected and approved prior to a sale or transfer will not be subject to another emission inspection for 90 days after the date of sale or transfer.

The procedures for becoming an official emissions inspection station are specified. The commission may suspend a station's certificate of authority to conduct emission inspections if the station is given due process as specified in the bill.

The bill requires the commission to establish an emissions system repair technician program. Successful completion of the program will require a passing score on a written test and a hands-on test. An automotive repair technician may forego participation in the program for up to two years after passage of the bill if proof is submitted that he or she possesses current A6 and A8 certifications from the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence.

The commission, in consultation with the Department of Natural Resources, must establish an economic assistance program for compliance with emission standards for persons with household incomes of less than 185% of the federal poverty level. This assistance will be used to offset the cost of repairs to bring vehicles into compliance. Assistance priority will be given to persons who possess only one vehicle or who do not qualify for a waiver.

The department and the State Highway Patrol will provide oversight of the emissions inspection program. Beginning October 1, 2008, and every October 1 thereafter, the department and the patrol must jointly submit an annual report to the General Assembly detailing the oversight measures implemented for the program, data collected regarding compliance and incidents of fraud, and recommendations for improvements to the program.

The bill abolishes the Missouri Air Pollution Control Fund and transfers its moneys to the Missouri Air Emission Reduction Fund.

The bill becomes effective September 1, 2007.