HB 1012 -- Law Enforcement Safety Fund

Sponsor: Roorda

This bill creates the Law Enforcement Safety Fund and authorizes a \$7 surcharge to be collected in each criminal case involving a violation of any county ordinance, criminal or traffic law, or municipal ordinance. A seven-member board will administer the fund to be composed of two chiefs of police who are members of the Missouri Police Chiefs' Association, two full-time police officers or deputy sheriffs, one sheriff, one member of the General Assembly from the Joint Committee on Public Employee Retirement, and one at-large member. The initial appointments will be made by the Governor with future members selected as specified in the bill.

The fund will be administered as a defined contribution system allowing any member of the system to receive the funds he or she contributes plus the interest or dividends earned less any maintenance fees. Eligibility for membership to the system is limited to full-time Missouri law enforcement employees except sheriffs from St. Louis City. Members with the required years of service will also be eligible to receive funds accumulated through the collection of surcharges. No member will be able to receive benefits from the system prior to reaching 55 years of age, and any benefits received from the system will not affect an officer's eligibility for any other retirement benefit plan.