CCS HCS SB 81 -- PROMOTION OF LOCAL TOURISM AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

This bill authorizes the cities of Augusta, Carrollton, Chillicothe, Gladstone, Hollister, Liberty, Miami, Missouri City, and Pleasant Hill to impose, upon voter approval, a transient guest tax of up to 5% per room per night to be used for the promotion of tourism. The City of Sullivan and the part of the Sullivan C-II School District located in Franklin County are also authorized to impose, upon voter approval, a transient guest tax of from 2% to 5% per room per night for the promotion of tourism.

The governing body of any county or city that has adopted transect-based zoning under Chapter 89, RSMo, and the counties of Boone, Clay, Franklin, Jackson, or Jasper and their municipalities are authorized to form a theater, cultural arts, and entertainment district. Currently, only St. Charles County and its municipalities are allowed to form a district.

The City of Independence is authorized to impose, upon voter approval, a sales tax of up to 1% of gross retail receipts to be used for funding police services provided by the municipal police department.