FIRST REGULAR SESSION [TRULY AGREED TO AND FINALLY PASSED] HOUSE COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE FOR

HOUSE BILL NO. 485

95TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

1457L.03T

2009

AN ACT

To repeal section 44.227, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to the seismic safety commission.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 44.227, RSMo, is repealed and one new section enacted in lieu 2 thereof, to be known as section 44.227, to read as follows:

44.227. 1. There is hereby created a "Seismic Safety Commission", which shall be 2 domiciled in the department of public safety.

3 2. The commission shall consist of seventeen members, one who shall be a member of the senate appointed by the president pro tem of the senate, one who shall be a member of the 4 house of representatives appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives, and fifteen 5 members appointed by the governor, with the advice and consent of the senate, [one each 6 representing] with no more than two from any one of the following professional areas: 7 architecture, planning, fire protection, public utilities, electrical engineering, mechanical 8 9 engineering, structural engineering, soils engineering, geology, seismology, local government, 10 insurance, business, the American Red Cross, public education and emergency management. 3. Commission members shall elect annually from its membership a chairman and vice 11 12 chairman. A quorum shall consist of [nine] a majority of appointed members, but not less 13 than seven members, and may be met by electronic attendance and nonvoting participation 14 of the staff of the legislative members of the commission. All commission members shall be 15 residents of the state of Missouri and shall have reasonable knowledge of issues relating to earthquakes. 16

EXPLANATION — Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in the above bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted from the law. Matter in **bold-face** type in the above bill is proposed language.

H.C.S. H.B. 485

17 4. The term of office for each member of the commission appointed by the governor 18 shall be four years, except that of the initial appointments, seven members shall be appointed for a term of two years and eight members shall be appointed for a term of four years. Any member 19 20 may be removed from office by the governor without cause. Before the expiration of the term 21 of a member appointed by the governor, the governor shall appoint a successor whose term 22 begins on July first next following. A member is eligible for reappointment. If there is a 23 vacancy for any cause, the governor shall make an appointment to become effective immediately 24 for the unexpired term.

5. Each member of the commission shall serve without compensation but shall receive fifty dollars for each day devoted to the affairs of the commission, plus actual and necessary expenses incurred in the discharge of his official duties.

6. The office of emergency management in the department of public safety shall provideto the commission all technical, clerical and other necessary support services.

✓