HB 485 -- Seismic Safety Commission

Sponsor: Wright

This bill removes the requirement that one member of the Seismic Safety Commission within the Department of Public Safety be appointed from each of the specified professional areas and adds public education to the list of professional areas from which members may be appointed. The bill also specifies that a quorum will consist of a majority of the appointed members and may be met by electronic attendance and the nonvoting participation of the staff of the legislative members of the commission. Currently, a quorum consists of nine members.