HB 7 -- Joint Committee on Disaster Funding

Sponsor: Silvey

This bill establishes the Joint Committee on Disaster Funding to oversee the expenditure of moneys for disaster recovery appropriated from the Budget Reserve Fund or other sources as authorized by law. The committee will consist of five members from the Senate Appropriations Committee appointed by the President Pro Tem and five members from the House of Representatives Budget Committee appointed by the Speaker. The majority party may have only three members from the House of Representatives and three from the Senate.

During any year in which moneys are appropriated and expended that are subject to the committee's oversight, the committee must submit a report of its activities to the General Assembly on or before January 15 of the following year.