HCS HB 1623 -- ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT TAX BOARDS

SPONSOR: Zerr (Ellinger)

COMMITTEE ACTION: Voted "do pass by consent" by the Committee on Economic Development by a vote of 19 to 0.

Currently, an economic development tax board established by a city consists of five members. This substitute specifies that a board must consist of at least five members but may be increased The number of members must be designated in the order to nine. or ordinance imposing the sales tax authorized under Section 67.1305, RSMo. One member of a five-member board or two members of a nine-member board must be appointed by the school districts within any economic development plan or the area funded by the Three members of a five-member board or five members sales tax. of a nine-member board must be appointed by the chief elected officer of the city with the consent of the majority of its governing body. One member of a five-member board or two members of a nine-member board must be appointed by the governing body of the county in which the city is located. If a board is already in existence, any increase in the number of members must be designated in an order or ordinance. The substitute also specifies the terms and election cycle for appointing the additional members.

FISCAL NOTE: No impact on state funds in FY 2013, FY 2014, and FY 2015.

PROPONENTS: Supporters say that the bill gives appointing authorities more opportunity to create diversity on a board.

Testifying for the bill were Representative Ellinger; Missouri Municipal League; Missouri Association of Counties; Missouri School Boards Association; and St. Louis County Municipal League.

OPPONENTS: There was no opposition voiced to the committee.