HB 1623 -- Economic Development Tax Boards

Sponsor: Ellinger

Currently, an economic development tax board established by a city consists of five members. This bill specifies that a board must consist of at least five members but may be increased to nine. The number of members must be designated in the order or ordinance imposing the sales tax authorized under Section 67.1305, RSMo. One or two members must be appointed by the school districts within any economic development plan or the area funded by the sales tax. Three or five members must be appointed by the chief elected officer of the city with the consent of the majority of its governing body. One or two members must be appointed by the governing body of the county in which the city is located. If a board is already in existence, any increase in the number of members must be designated in an order or ordinance. The bill also specifies the terms and election cycle for appointing the additional members.