SECOND REGULAR SESSION

HOUSE BILL NO. 1050

97TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVE RHOADS.

4110L.01I

D. ADAM CRUMBLISS, Chief Clerk

AN ACT

To repeal section 226.030, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to the highways and transportation commission.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 226.030, RSMo, is repealed and one new section enacted in lieu 2 thereof, to be known as section 226.030, to read as follows:

226.030. 1. Prior to January 1, 2015, the highways and transportation commission shall consist of six members, who shall be appointed by the governor, by and with the advice and 2 consent of the senate, not more than three thereof to be members of the same political party. 3 Beginning January 1, 2015, the commission shall consist of seven members, who shall be 4 5 appointed by the governor, by and with the advice and consent of the senate, not more than 6 four thereof to be members of the same political party, and each commissioner appointed 7 after such date shall be a resident of a department of transportation geographic district 8 different from that of the other commissioners. Each commissioner shall be a taxpayer and resident of state for at least five years prior to his or her appointment. Any commissioner may 9 be removed by the governor if fully satisfied of his or her inefficiency, neglect of duty, or 10 misconduct in office. Commissioners appointed pursuant to this section shall be appointed for 11 12 terms of six years, except as otherwise provided in this subsection. Upon the expiration of each 13 of the foregoing terms of these commissioners a successor shall be appointed for a term of six years or until his or her successor is appointed and qualified which term of six years shall 14 15 thereafter be the length of term of each member of the commission unless removed as above 16 provided. The members of the commission shall receive as compensation for their services 17 twenty-five dollars per day for the time spent in the performance of their official duties, and also 18 their necessary traveling and other expenses incurred while actually engaged in the discharge of

EXPLANATION — Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in the above bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted from the law. Matter in **bold-face** type in the above bill is proposed language.

19 their official duties. [Members whose terms otherwise expire December 1, 2003, shall serve with 20 terms expiring March 1, 2004, and new members or the members reappointed shall be appointed 21 for terms expiring March 1, 2005; a member whose term otherwise expires December 1, 2005, 22 shall serve with a term expiring March 1, 2007; a member whose term otherwise expires 23 December 1, 2007, shall serve with a term expiring March 1, 2009; and one member whose term 24 otherwise expires October 13, 2007, shall serve with a term expiring March 1, 2007; and one 25 member whose term otherwise expires October 13, 2007, shall serve with a term expiring March 26 1, 2009.] If a vacancy occurs in any term of a commissioner due to death, resignation, or 27 removal, a successor shall be appointed for only the remainder of the unexpired term.

28 2. The two members of the commission, one each from opposing political parties, who 29 have the most seniority in commission service shall serve as commission leadership with one 30 member as chair and the other member as vice chair, respectively, for terms ending March 1, 31 2005. The commission shall elect one of the members as chair and the other as vice chair. 32 Effective March 1, 2005, the commission shall elect the two members of the commission, one 33 from each opposing political party who has the most seniority in commission service, who shall 34 serve as commission leadership with one member as chair and the other member as vice chair, 35 respectively, for one year. At the end of such year, the members currently serving as chair and vice chair shall have the option to rotate positions, and the member currently serving as vice 36 37 chair may serve as chair, and vice versa. Thereafter, commission leadership shall continue to 38 rotate accordingly with the two members from opposing political parties who have the most 39 seniority in terms of commission service being elected by the commission to serve as commission leadership. If one of the commission leadership offices becomes vacant due to 40 41 death, resignation, removal, or refuses to serve before the one-year leadership term expires, the 42 commission shall elect one of its members that is of the same political party as the vacating 43 officer to serve the remainder of the vacating officer's leadership term. Such election shall not prohibit that member from later serving as chair and vice chair when such member's seniority 44 45 in commission service qualifies him or her for those offices as provided in this subsection.

3. No more than one-half of the members of the commission shall be of the same
political party. The selection and removal of all employees of the department of transportation
shall be without regard to political affiliation.

49 4. The present members of the commission shall continue to serve as members of the 50 commission for the remainder of the terms for which they were appointed, except as provided 51 in subsection 1 of this section.

52 5. Any member reappointed shall only be eligible to serve as chair or vice-chair during 53 the final two years of such member's reappointment.

1