HB 1546 -- YOUTH SUICIDE PREVENTION

SPONSOR: Lauer

COMMITTEE ACTION: Voted "Do Pass by Consent" by the Standing Committee on Emerging Issues in Education by a vote of 12 to 0. Voted "Do Pass by Consent" by the Select Committee on Rules by a vote of 8 to 0.

This bill allows, beginning in the 2017-18 school year, any licensed educator to annually complete up to two hours of training or professional development in youth suicide awareness and prevention as part of the professional development hours required for State Board of Education certification.

The bill requires the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) to develop guidelines suitable for this training.

By July 1, 2018, each district must adopt a policy, which must address strategies that can help identify students who are at possible risk of suicide, strategies and protocols for helping students at possible risk of suicide, and protocols for responding to a suicide death for youth suicide awareness and prevention, including the training and education of district employees.

By July 1, 2017, the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education must develop a model policy that districts may adopt. By July 1, 2021, and at least every three years after, DESE must request information and seek feedback from districts on their experience with the policy for youth suicide awareness and prevention and review this information.

This bill is similar to HB 1293 (2015).

PROPONENTS: Supporters say that teachers would like to have training with regard to youth suicide prevention. Many school students deal with adult issues and school personnel may be more likely than the students' parents to notice characteristics of suicide risk.

Testifying for the bill were Representative Lauer; Missouri Coalition For Community Behavioral Healthcare; Missouri State Teachers Association; Missouri Coalition Against Domestic And Sexual Violence; Missouri National Education Association; Missouri Council of School Administrators; National Association of Social Workers; Missouri School Boards Association; and Missouri Psychiatric Association.

OPPONENTS: There was no opposition voiced to the committee.