FIRST REGULAR SESSION

HOUSE BILL NO. 968

99TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVE EGGLESTON.

1956H.01I

17

D. ADAM CRUMBLISS, Chief Clerk

AN ACT

To repeal section 226.030, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to the highways and transportation commission.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 226.030, RSMo, is repealed and one new section enacted in lieu thereof, to be known as section 226.030, to read as follows:

226.030. 1. Prior to January 1, 2018, the highways and transportation commission shall consist of six members, who shall be appointed by the governor, by and with the advice and 2 consent of the senate, not more than three thereof to be members of the same political party. 3 4 Beginning January 1, 2018, the commission shall consist of eight members who shall be appointed by the governor by and with the advice and consent of the senate, not more than four thereof to be members of the same political party, with one commissioner appointed from each of the state's seven department of transportation geographic districts and one 7 commissioner appointed regardless of where he or she resides. For the purpose of determining the district of residence of commissioners appointed under this subsection, the 10 boundaries of the seven department of transportation geographic districts shall be as such boundaries existed on August 28, 2017. Not more than two members shall be of the same 11 12 **occupation.** Each commissioner shall be a taxpayer and resident of state for at least five years prior to his **or her** appointment. Any commissioner may be removed by the governor if fully 13 satisfied of his or her inefficiency, neglect of duty, or misconduct in office. Commissioners 14 15 appointed pursuant to this section shall be appointed for terms of six years, except as otherwise 16 provided in this subsection. Upon the expiration of each of the foregoing terms of these

EXPLANATION — Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in the above bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted from the law. Matter in **bold-face** type in the above bill is proposed language.

commissioners a successor shall be appointed for a term of six years or until his **or her** successor

HB 968 2

32

33

3536

37

38

39

40

41

42

43 44

45 46

47

48

49

50

51

is appointed and qualified which term of six years shall thereafter be the length of term of each 19 member of the commission unless removed as above provided. The members of the commission 20 shall receive as compensation for their services twenty-five dollars per day for the time spent in 21 the performance of their official duties, and also their necessary traveling and other expenses 22 incurred while actually engaged in the discharge of their official duties. [Members whose terms otherwise expire December 1, 2003, shall serve with terms expiring March 1, 2004, and new 23 24 members or the members reappointed shall be appointed for terms expiring March 1, 2005; a 25 member whose term otherwise expires December 1, 2005, shall serve with a term expiring 26 March 1, 2007; a member whose term otherwise expires December 1, 2007, shall serve with a 27 term expiring March 1, 2009; and one member whose term otherwise expires October 13, 2007, 28 shall serve with a term expiring March 1, 2007; and one member whose term otherwise expires 29 October 13, 2007, shall serve with a term expiring March 1, 2009. If a vacancy occurs in any term of a commissioner due to death, resignation, or removal, a successor shall be appointed for 30 31 only the remainder of the unexpired term.

2. The two members of the commission, one each from opposing political parties, who have the most seniority in commission service shall serve as commission leadership with one member as chair and the other member as vice chair, respectively, for terms ending March 1, 2005. The commission shall elect one of the members as chair and the other as vice chair. Effective March 1, 2005, the commission shall elect the two members of the commission, one from each opposing political party who has the most seniority in commission service, who shall serve as commission leadership with one member as chair and the other member as vice chair, respectively, for one year. At the end of such year, the members currently serving as chair and vice chair shall have the option to rotate positions, and the member currently serving as vice chair may serve as chair, and vice versa. Thereafter, commission leadership shall continue to rotate accordingly with the two members from opposing political parties who have the most seniority in terms of commission service being elected by the commission to serve as commission leadership. If one of the commission leadership offices becomes vacant due to death, resignation, removal, or [refuses] refusal to serve before the one-year leadership term expires, the commission shall elect one of its members that is of the same political party as the vacating officer to serve the remainder of the vacating officer's leadership term. Such election shall not prohibit that member from later serving as chair and vice chair when such member's seniority in commission service qualifies him or her for those offices as provided in this subsection. Any member reappointed shall be eligible to serve as chair or vice-chair only during the final two years of such member's reappointment.

HB 968 3

55

5657

3. No more than one-half of the members of the commission shall be of the same political party. The selection and removal of all employees of the department of transportation shall be without regard to political affiliation.

- 4. The present members of the commission shall continue to serve as members of the commission for the remainder of the terms for which they were appointed, except as provided in subsection 1 of this section.
- 58 [5. Any member reappointed shall only be eligible to serve as chair or vice-chair during 59 the final two years of such member's reappointment.]

/