House Concurrent Resolution No. 101

99TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVE WALSH.

D. ADAM CRUMBLISS, ChiefClerk

WHEREAS, school violence is a public health problem that results in deaths, serious injuries, and significant psychological problems, according to the Centers for Disease Control 2 and Prevention (CDC); and 3 4 5 WHEREAS, the CDC reports that in a 2015 survey, almost eight percent of youth in 6 grades nine through twelve "reported being in a physical fight on school property in the twelve months before the survey" and six percent "reported being threatened or injured with a weapon 7 8 on school property one or more times in the twelve months before the survey"; and 9 10 WHEREAS, despite the efforts of programs and organizations dedicated to ending school violence, deaths and physical fights on school property continue to occur: 11 12 13 NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the members of the House of 14 Representatives of the Ninety-ninth General Assembly, Second Regular Session, the Senate 15 concurring therein, hereby create the School Violence Task Force; and 16 17 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the mission of the task force shall be to raise awareness of the school violence problem in Missouri and provide organizations and agencies 18 19 that work to end school violence with a central place to share information; and 20 21 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall consist of the following 22 members: 23 (1) Four members of the House of Representatives, appointed by the Speaker of the 24 House of Representatives; 25 (2) One principal of an elementary school or middle school, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives; 26 27 (3) One principal of a high school, appointed by the Speaker of the House of 28 Representatives; 29 (4) One teacher at an elementary school or middle school, appointed by the Speaker of 30 the House of Representatives; 31 (5) Two college professors, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives;

6569H.01I

HCR 101

32	(6) Four members of the Senate, appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate;
33	(7) One member of law enforcement, appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the
34	Senate;
35	(8) One teacher at a high school, appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate;
36	(9) One member of a college campus security office, appointed by the President Pro
37	Tempore of the Senate; and
38	(10) Two mental health professionals, appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the
39	Senate; and
40	
41	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the staff members of Senate Research, House
42	Research, House Drafting, and the Joint Committee on Legislative Research shall provide such
43	legal, research, clerical, technical, and bill drafting services as the task force may require in the
44	performance of its duties; and
45	
46	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force, its members, and any staff assigned
47	to the task force shall receive reimbursement for their actual and necessary expenses incurred in
48	attending meetings of the task force or any subcommittee thereof; and
49	
50	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall meet within two months from
51	adoption of this resolution; and
52	
53	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall report a summary of its
54	activities and any recommendations for legislation to the General Assembly by January 1, 2019;
55	and
56	
57	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the School Violence Task Force is authorized to
	function during the legislative interim of the second regular session of the Ninety-ninth General
59	Assembly, as authorized by State v. Atterbury, 300 S.W.2d 806 (Mo. 1957); and
60	
61	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall terminate on January 1, 2019;
62	and
63	
64	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Chief Clerk of the Missouri House of
65 66	Representatives be instructed to prepare properly inscribed copies of this resolution for the Atterney General the Director of the Department of Public Safety the Director of the
66 67	Attorney General, the Director of the Department of Public Safety, the Director of the
67	Department of Mental Health, the Commissioner of Education, and the Director of the

68 Department of Social Services.

✓