House Concurrent Resolution No. 99

99TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVE MILLER.

D. ADAM CRUMBLISS, Chief Clerk

6674H.01I

WHEREAS, wind power is the use of airflow through turbines to generate electricity; 2 and 3 4 WHEREAS, wind power is viewed as an economical and environmentally friendly 5 alternative to fossil fuels because it is plentiful, renewable, widely distributed, and clean; and 6 7 WHEREAS, the turbines used to generate wind power also have negative impacts, 8 including vibrations, noise, and electronic communications interference, for nearby residents; 9 and 10 11 WHEREAS, the state of Missouri has an interest in studying both the positive and 12 negative effects wind energy has on the state, its people, and its resources: 13 14 NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the members of the House of Representatives of the Ninety-ninth General Assembly, Second Regular Session, the Senate 15 concurring therein, hereby establish the Missouri Wind Energy Task Force; and 16 17 18 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall consist of the following 19 members: 20 Five members of the House of Representatives, with three members to be (1)appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, one of whom is a member of the 21 22 Utilities Committee, one of whom is a member of the Agriculture Policy Committee, and one of whom is a member of the Conservation and Natural Resources Committee, and two members 23 24 to be appointed by the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, both of whom are 25 members of the Utilities Committee, the Agriculture Policy Committee, or the Conservation and 26 Natural Resources Committee;

27 (2) Five members of the Senate, with three members to be appointed by the President
28 Pro Tempore of the Senate, at least one of whom is a member of the Agriculture, Food
29 Production and Outdoor Resources Committee, and two members to be appointed by the

HCR 99

30 31	Minority Leader of the Senate, at least one of whom is a member of the Agriculture, Food Production and Outdoor Resources Committee;
32	(3) The Governor or his or her designee;
33	(4) The Director of the Department of Natural Resources or his or her designee;
34 35	(5) The Director of the Department of Economic Development or his or her designee; and
36	(6) The Director of the Department of Agriculture or his or her designee; and
 37 38 39 40 	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall designate the chair of the task force and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate shall designate the vice chair of the task force; and
41	
42 43 44 45	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the staffs of House Research, Senate Research, and the Joint Committee on Legislative Research shall provide such legal, research, clerical, technical, and bill drafting services as the task force may require in the performance of its duties; and
46	
47 48 49	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force, its members, and any staff assigned to the task force shall receive reimbursement for actual and necessary expenses incurred in attending meetings of the task force or any subcommittee thereof; and
50	
51 52	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall meet within two months from adoption of this resolution; and
53	
54 55 56	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Missouri Wind Energy Task Force shall report a summary of its activities and any recommendations for legislation to the General Assembly by January 1, 2019; and
57	
58 59 60 61	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force is authorized to function during the legislative interim of both the second regular session of the Ninety-ninth General Assembly and the first regular session of the One Hundredth General Assembly, as authorized by <i>State v</i> . <i>Atterbury</i> , 300 S.W.2d 806 (Mo. 1957); and

HCR 99

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall terminate on January 1, 2020;
 and

65

66 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that the Chief Clerk of the Missouri House of 67 Representatives be instructed to prepare a properly inscribed copy of this resolution for the 68 Governor and the directors of the Departments of Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Economic 69 Development.

1