HB 1447 -- HIGHWAY AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

SPONSOR: Eggleston

Beginning January 1, 2019, the Highways and Transportation Commission shall consist of eight members, who shall be appointed by the Governor, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, not more than four to be members of the same political party, with one commissioner appointed from each of the state's seven Department of Transportation geographic districts and one commissioner appointed regardless of where he or she resides. If members are reappointed, then they are eligible to serve as chair or vice-chair only during the final two years of their new term in office.

For the purpose of determining the district of residence of commissioners appointed under this subsection, the boundaries of the seven Department of Transportation geographic districts shall be as such boundaries existed on August 28, 2018. Not more than two members shall be of the same occupation.