SS SCS HB 1465 -- DEGREES AT PUBLIC INSTITUTIONS

This bill allows the Coordinating Board for Higher Education to approve new degree programs offered by state institutions of higher education. Community colleges may be authorized to offer baccalaureate degrees to meet local workforce needs, and other universities may collaborate with the University of Missouri to offer degrees in engineering, chiropractic, osteopathic medicine, and podiatry. The West Plains Campus of Missouri State University and the State Technical College of Missouri may also offer baccalaureate degrees if authorized by the Coordinating Board. The University of Missouri remains the state's only public research university and the only institution authorized to grant research doctorates and first-professional degrees including dentistry, law, medicine, optometry, pharmacy, and veterinary medicine. No state college or university may seek the land grant designation held by Lincoln University and the University of Missouri or the research designation currently held by the University of Missouri.