## FIRST REGULAR SESSION

## **HOUSE BILL NO. 1255**

## **100TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY**

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVE HICKS.

DANA RADEMAN MILLER. Chief Clerk

## **AN ACT**

To amend chapter 650, RSMo, by adding thereto one new section relating to the law enforcement terrorism prevention activity commission.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Chapter 650, RSMo, is amended by adding thereto one new section, to be 2 known as section 650.580, to read as follows:

650.580. 1. As used in this section, the following terms shall mean:

- (1) "Primary members", members of the law enforcement terrorism prevention 2 activity commission that may cast a vote on matters before the law enforcement terrorism 3 4 prevention activity commission;
- 5 "Regions", the nine regions of the state designated by the Missouri state (2) 6 highway patrol;
- 7 (3) "Secondary members", members of the law enforcement terrorism prevention 8 activity commission that may cast a vote on matters before the law enforcement terrorism 9 prevention activity commission in the absence of the primary member.
- 10 2. There is hereby established within the department of public safety a "Law Enforcement Terrorism Prevention Activity Commission", which shall consist of eighteen 11 12 primary members and eighteen secondary members representing the nine regions of the 13 state: 14
  - (1) The eighteen primary members of the commission shall consist of:
- 15 (a) Nine sheriffs selected by the Missouri Sheriffs' Association, who shall serve until 16 replaced by the Missouri Sheriffs' Association; and

EXPLANATION — Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in the above bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted from the law. Matter in **bold-face** type in the above bill is proposed language.

2473H.01I

HB 1255

- (b) Nine chiefs of police selected by the Missouri Police Chiefs Association, who
  shall serve until replaced by the Missouri Police Chiefs Association;
- 19

(2) The eighteen secondary members of the commission shall consist of:

- (a) Nine sheriffs selected by the Missouri Sheriffs' Association, who shall serve until
   replaced by the Missouri Sheriffs' Association; and
- (b) Nine chiefs of police selected by the Missouri Police Chiefs Association, who
   shall serve until replaced by the Missouri Police Chiefs Association.

**3.** Both primary and secondary members of the law enforcement terrorism prevention activity commission shall annually elect a member to serve as chair. Also, the law enforcement terrorism prevention activity commission shall meet at least twice a year at a time determined by the director of the department of public safety or by a majority vote of both primary and secondary members. Ten primary members of the law enforcement terrorism prevention activity commission shall constitute a quorum.

4. The names of the members of the law enforcement terrorism prevention activity
 commission shall be submitted to the director of the department of public safety for the
 sole purpose of acknowledgment of the members of the law enforcement terrorism
 prevention activity commission.

5. The law enforcement terrorism prevention activity commission shall have the
 authority to appropriate twenty-five percent of any grant the state receives from the United
 States Department of Homeland Security.

6. No member of the commission shall receive any compensation for the performance of his or her official duties but shall be entitled to reimbursement for actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of his or her official duties.

1