HCS HB 749 -- TOWING TASK FORCE (Tate)

COMMITTEE OF ORIGIN: Standing Committee on Transportation

This bill creates the "Towing Task Force" consisting of 13 members, including two members of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker and two members of the Senate appointed by the President Pro Tem, as specified in the bill. The task force will make recommendations on overcharges, customer complaints, and the process for nonconsensual towing used by law enforcement. A report to the General Assembly must be submitted March 1, 2021, and the task force will expire on January 1, 2022.