HJR 55 -- COUNTY CONSOLIDATION

SPONSOR: Mitten

This bill proposes to consolidate 31 Missouri counties into 14. The proposed consolidations are as follows:

- (1) Atchison County and Holt County;
- (2) Barton County and Dade County;
- (3) Caldwell County and Daviess County;
- (4) Carroll County and Chariton County;
- (5) Carter County, Reynolds County, and Shannon County;
- (6) Clark County and Lewis County;
- (7) Douglas County and Ozark County;
- (8) Gentry County, Nodaway County, and Worth County;
- (9) Harrison County and Mercer County;
- (10) Hickory County and Saint Clair County;
- (11) Knox County, Schuyler County, and Scotland County;
- (12) Maries County and Osage County;
- (13) Monroe County and Shelby County; and
- (14) Putnam County and Sullivan County.

The counties shall begin a two year transition period with the chief executive of each grouping's most populous county as of January 1, 2019 serving as the chief executive of all counties in the grouping until the general election in 2024.