HB 1820 -- SUICIDE PREVENTION

SPONSOR: Kelley (127)

This bill establishes the "Jason Flatt/ Avery Reine Cantor Act", which states that beginning in the 2021-22 school year, each school district must offer at least two hours of suicide prevention training for all practicing teachers. All teachers, principals, and licensed educators must attend such a training or complete training on suicide prevention through self-review of suicide prevention materials. The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education may develop materials to be used for such training or may offer districts materials developed by a third party.

This bill also requires public schools, charter schools, and public institutions of higher education that issue pupil identification cards to have printed on the card specific phone numbers including those for the National Suicide Prevention and the Crisis Text Line.

This bill is similar to HB 1043 (2019).