HB 1888 -- WORKERS' COMPENSATION

SPONSOR: Schroer

After August 28, 2020, all administrative law judges of the Division of Workers' Compensation shall be subject to a defined term. The term for those currently serving is set based upon total months of service. Thereafter, the term of service shall be six years. A judge shall not serve beyond his or her term unless reappointed by the division.

The bill provides that each judge, depending on months of service, shall be subject to a retention vote, and every three years thereafter. A judge who has received two successive recommendations of no confidence shall not receive a vote of retention. This bill allows the division to set the salaries of administrative law judges, subject to appropriations.

This bill is similar to HB 248 (2019).