House Amendment NO
Offered By
AMEND House Committee Substitute for House Bill Nos. 647 & 841, Page 1, Section A, Line 2, by inserting after all of said section and line the following:
"262.217. Effective September 1, 1995, there is created a "State Fair Commission" whose domicile for the purposes of sections 262.215 to 262.280 shall be the department of agriculture of this state. The commission shall consist of nine members, [two of whom shall be eative farmers, two of whom shall be either current members or past presidents of county or regional fair boards,] one of whom shall be the director of the department of agriculture[none of whom shall be employed in agribusiness, and three at large members who shall be Missouri residents]. The director of the department of agriculture [shall be the chairman of the commission until January 31, 1997, and] shall not be counted against membership from a congressional district[note the time]. The [shairman] chair shall be elected from among the members of the commission by the commission members. Such officer shall serve for a term of two years. Commissioners shall be reimbursed for their actual and necessary expenses incurred when attending meetings of the commission, to be pair from appropriations made therefor. Commissioners shall be appointed by the governor, with the advice and consent of the senate. [The county fair association in the state may submit to the governor a list of nominees for appointment, three from each congressional district, for those commission members who are required to be current members or past presidents of county fair boards. Not more than four commissioners excluding the director of agriculture shall be members of the same political party.] Each commissioner shall be a resident of the state for five years prior to [his] the commissioner's appointment. The eight initial commissioners shall be appointed as follows: two shall be appointed for terms of one year, two for terms of two years, two for terms of four years. A commissioner shall be appointed for terms of one year, two for terms of two years, two for terms of four years. A commissioner shall continue to serve until [his] a successor is appointed and qualified. Whenever
Action Taken Date