FIRST REGULAR SESSION HOUSE BILL NO. 1418

101ST GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVE HOVIS.

DANA RADEMAN MILLER, Chief Clerk

AN ACT

To repeal section 104.160, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to the Missouri department of transportation and highway patrol employees' retirement system.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 104.160, RSMo, is repealed and one new section enacted in lieu 2 thereof, to be known as section 104.160, to read as follows:

104.160. The board of trustees shall consist of three members of the state highways and transportation commission elected by the members of the commission. The superintendent of 2 3 the highway patrol and the director of the department of transportation shall serve as members by virtue of their respective offices, and their successors shall succeed them as members of the 4 board of trustees. In addition, one member of the senate appointed by the president pro tem of 5 the senate and one member of the house of representatives, appointed by the speaker of the house 6 shall serve as members of the board of trustees. In addition to the appointed legislators, two 7 active employee members of the system shall be elected by a plurality vote of the active 8 9 employee members of the system, herein designated for four-year terms to commence July 1, 1982, and every four years thereafter. One elected member shall be elected from the active 10 11 employees of the department of transportation and one elected member shall be elected from the 12 active employees of the civilian or uniformed highway patrol. The terms of the active employee representatives serving on the board on August 28, 2022, shall continue until 13 14 June 30, 2024. All terms of elected active employee representatives shall be for four years after June 30, 2024. In addition to the two active employee members, two retirees of the system 15 16 shall be elected to serve on the board by a plurality vote of the retirees of the system. One retiree shall be elected by the retired employees of the transportation department and one retiree shall 17

EXPLANATION — Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in the above bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted from the law. Matter in **bold-face** type in the above bill is proposed language.

2510H.01I

HB 1418

18 be elected by the retired employees of the civilian or uniformed highway patrol. The retiree

19 serving on the board on August 28, 2007, shall continue to serve on the board as the 20 representative of the retired employees of the transportation department until June 30, 2010. An

21 election shall be held prior to January 1, 2008, for the retiree to be elected by the retired

22 employees of the civilian or uniformed highway patrol with said term to commence on January

23 1, 2008, and expire on June 30, 2010. All terms of elected retired employees shall be for four

24 years after June 30, 2010. The board shall determine the procedures for nomination and election

25 of the elective board members. Nominations may be entered by any member of the system,

26 provided members of the system have a reasonable opportunity to vote.

✓