## FIRST REGULAR SESSION

## **HOUSE BILL NO. 1239**

## 101ST GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVE BLACK (7).

2547H.01I

DANA RADEMAN MILLER, Chief Clerk

## **AN ACT**

To repeal section 262.217, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to the state fair commission.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 262.217, RSMo, is repealed and one new section enacted in lieu

thereof, to be known as section 262.217, to read as follows: 262.217. Effective September 1, 1995, there is created a "State Fair Commission" whose

- domicile for the purposes of sections 262.215 to 262.280 shall be the department of agriculture
- of this state. The commission shall consist of nine members, two of whom shall be active
- farmers, two of whom shall be either current members or past presidents of county or regional
- fair boards, one of whom shall be the director of the department of agriculture, one of whom
- shall be employed in agribusiness, and three at-large members who shall be Missouri residents.
- The director of the department of agriculture [shall be the chairman of the commission until
- January 31, 1997, and shall not be counted against membership from a congressional district,
- at which time]. The [chairman] chair shall be elected from among the members of the
- 10 commission by the commission members. Such officer shall serve for a term of two years.
- Commissioners shall be reimbursed for their actual and necessary expenses incurred when 11
- 12 attending meetings of the commission, to be paid from appropriations made therefor.
- 13 Commissioners shall be appointed by the governor, with the advice and consent of the senate.
- 14 The county fair association in the state may submit to the governor a list of nominees for
- appointment, three from each congressional district, for those commission members who are 15
- 16 required to be current members or past presidents of county fair boards. [Not more than four
- 17 commissioners excluding the director of agriculture shall be members of the same political

EXPLANATION — Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in the above bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted from the law. Matter in **bold-face** type in the above bill is proposed language. HB 1239 2

Each commissioner shall be a resident of the state for five years prior to [his] the 18 party. 19 **commissioner's** appointment. The eight initial commissioners shall be appointed as follows: 20 two shall be appointed for terms of one year, two for terms of two years, two for terms of three 21 years and two for terms of four years. Their successors shall be appointed for terms of four years. A commissioner shall continue to serve until [his] a successor is appointed and qualified. 22 23 Whenever any vacancy occurs on the commission, the governor shall fill the vacancy by 24 appointment for the remainder of the term of the commissioner who was replaced. There shall 25 be no more than two commission members from any congressional district.

/