HCS HB 86 -- CARRYING OF CONCEALED FIREARMS

SPONSOR: Taylor (139)

COMMITTEE ACTION: Voted "Do Pass with HCS" by the Standing Committee on General Laws by a vote of 10 to 6. Voted "Do Pass" by the Standing Committee on Rules- Legislative Oversight by a vote of 6 to 2.

The following is a summary of the House Committee Substitute for HB 86.

This bill makes changes to the list of locations an individual can carry a concealed firearm within this state and the list of locations an individual with a concealed carry permit can carry a concealed firearm within the state. This bill also prohibits the state, political subdivisions, and public institutions of higher education from imposing any policies or contractual requirements that would have the effect of prohibiting employees or students from the carrying of concealed firearms into locations where concealed carry is not otherwise prohibited by law.

No changes have been made to the penalties for carrying a concealed firearm in locations prohibited under these sections.

This bill is similar to HB 1638 (2020).

The following is a summary of the public testimony from the committee hearing. The testimony was based on the introduced version of the bill.

PROPONENTS: Supporters say that this bill allows students the ability to defend themselves and others in case of danger. The bill extends fundamental firearms protection into more areas that people use regularly. Supporters also say that control by educational institutions will provide guidance and safety in that area.

Testifying for the bill were Representative Taylor; James Norman; Mark Johnson; Steven D. Ackman; Susan Myers; Arnie C. Dienoff; Royce Barondes; and Tony Shepherd.

OPPONENTS: Those who oppose the bill say that the default should remain in control of the affected places. Educational institutions already have campus security who can protect students, but there are systems in place where someone can carry a firearm with permission. Firearms in schools, churches, and government buildings are harmful to the activities there. Opponents say that even lawful firearm carriers can engage in unlawful acts in any environment, so the state should not expand access to firearms in places with extreme stressors, such as schools. Rising suicide rates and incidences of gun violence show that firearms should be away from young, stressed students. Firearms should not be in bars because alcohol can make otherwise rational and lawful people act illegally. Many individuals do not feel comfortable or safe around firearms, so they do not want to encounter firearms at more places. Opponents caution that posting signage prohibiting guns makes these places targets. They further warn that firearms in more places does not necessarily equate to those places being safer.

Testifying against the bill were Anastasia L. Ross; Andrea Bauman; Ann; Billie Westervelt; Catey Terry; Catherine Gilbert; Cathy Primm; Christine M. Novalis; Clarissa Hollander; Cynthia Tay; Elise Waldman; Elizabeth C. Williams; Erin Schaeffer; Gail Wechsler; Garry P. Reams, M.D.; Gwendolyn Marberry Van Asselt; Heather Harper Yates; Jaime Thompson; Jana Ramsey; Janie Fickle; Jean C. Knapp; Jeffrey Leipholtz; Jennifer Howard; Joan Mcgivney; Joanne Haglof; John Couture; John Steffen; Josia Leipholtz; Karen Rogers; Kate Bowles; Kelley Wrenn Pozel; Kent Stalder; L. C. Van Fossen-Murray; Lois Rubin; Margie Sable; Maria Lindbergh; Mary Baker; Mary Reams; Nancy Ames; Philip C. Knocke; Polly Blair; Polly C. Dross; Rachel Rilinger; Randee Steffen; Rebecca Morgan; Rebecca Shaw; Rhonda Torno; Richard Egan; Ron Haglof; Sarah Whitney; Suzy Latare; Sylvia J. Swift Smith; Tara Reuter Johnson; Timothy D. Knapp; Missouri Catholic Conference; Valerie Haldiman; David Hall, Missouri State University; Amy Bearce; Amy Blansit; Andrea Cannon; Aurore Hockman; Beatrice Church; Bety Le Shackelford; Brandi Koziatek; Catherine B. Marek; Cynthia Spaeth; Dan Kent Deplois; Deborah C. Bowers; Deborah Murphy; Diane Gozdzialski; Don Crozier; Eduardo Reina; Erin Grossmann; Kansas City Area Transportation Authority; Missouri Chapter, American Academy of Pediatrics; Geralyn Madigan; Geri Tyrey; Heather Hageman; J. Hurd; Jeanne Boone; Jemile Dragovic; Jennifer Hopkins; Jennifer Loza; Jennifer Ono; Jenny Donnelly; Julie Holland; Kelly Loretta; Kim Linhares; Kristin Bowen; Kristin Rehg; Kristine Fields; Lynda Stewart; Mandy Martin; Margaret Asher; Marian Thomas; Mary Schuman; Melinda Finnegan; Michelle Miletic; Peggy Berger; Rike Reuter-Hart; Sarah Heyman; Sarah Kim; Scott Randolph; Stephenie Godfroy; Susan Fitzgibbon; Susan Harris; Tara Bennett; Victoria Godfrey-Zeller; Wynne Moskop; Abigail Pankau; Alfred Schuler, St. Cronan Church; Amanda Bell; Amy Gavin; Ana Moreno; Ashley Jamison; Atsuki Mori; Barbara J. Sopp; Bernadette Oneill; Beth Newman; Bill Barrett; Brenda Kosark; Catherine Lasinski; Charles E. Schlueter; Christine Hyman; Claire Heil; Dane Knapp; Debra Powell; Devon Knapp; Jamie Wilson; Janet Thorn; Jason Green; Jason Newman; Jennifer Myer; Jillian G. Embrey; John Kiehne; Judith M. Gallagher; Julia Greco; Katherine Vakalapudi; Kathleen Beckemeyer; Kathleen W Herring; Kris Wesche; Kristine Gould; Liam Newman; Lloyd Klinedinst; Loretta Ceresia; Lori Green; Mary Beth

Gallagher; Mary Singaus; Mary Ward; Miles Newman; Missouri NEA; Pamela Galati; Rachel Pereira; Rebecca Carey; Rebecca Watson; Rodney Bland, KCATA; Samuel Cohen; Sr.Cathy Doherty; Theresa Gudowicz Green; Cara Maher; Carrie Mcelfresh; Elizabeth Wesloh; Julia Woodard; Kathleen M Hunn; Linda Godwin; Mandy Sybrandy; Mo Public Transit Association; Ryane Little; Vicki Martin; Saint Luke's Health Center; Eleanor White; Joyce Rogers; Kiley Marie Rhode; Laura Burkhardt, Moms Demand Action; Leroy Nooter; Nichole Moreno; Randall Jennings; Sarah Mayer; Taggart Arens; Kelsey Wulfkuhle; Leigh Cannon; Luke Barber; Stephanie Hohman; Amy White; Catherine Bradford; Deborah Dalay; Elizabeth Linhares; Ericka Thomas; Irina Lipkina-Kler; Kim Kinyon Coke; Laurie Brickey; Melissa Foerschler; Monica Lee; Richard Orr; Rosalie Belue; Gyndee Powers; Stephen Berkwitz; Kendall Martínez-Wright; Paul Wagoner, Council On Public Higher Education; Joya Uraizee; Lori King; Sara Ennis; and Mary Gross.

Written testimony has been submitted for this bill. The full written testimony can be found under Testimony on the bill page on the House website.