HCS HB 829 -- MEMORIAL HIGHWAY

SPONSOR: Roden

COMMITTEE ACTION: Voted "Do Pass with HCS" by the Standing Committee on Transportation by a vote of 13 to 0. Voted "Do Pass" by the Standing Committee on Rules-Legislative Oversight by a vote of 9 to 0.

The following is a summary of the House Committee Substitute for HB 829.

This bill adds "Missouri recipients of the Medal of Honor" to the list of recipients to whom the memorial designation requirements do not apply.

The bill also provides that beginning August 28, 2021, no fees will be assessed and all costs associated with a memorial designation for a deceased recipients of the Medal of Honor will be funded by the Department of Transportation, or by the public through a donation check-off when they register their vehicles, apply for a drivers license, or pay their taxes. All moneys donated in these provisions shall be deposited into the newly created "Missouri Medal of Honor Recipients Fund".

This bill designates a portion of State Highway T from one-half mile west of Laretto Ridge Drive to Decker Road in the town of Labadie in Franklin County as the "Medal of Honor PVT George Phillips Memorial Highway".

The following is a summary of the public testimony from the committee hearing. The testimony was based on the introduced version of the bill.

PROPONENTS: Supporters say that Missouri recipients of the Medal of Honor deserve to have the signs provided free-of-charge for their valiant service.

Testifying for the bill were Representative Roden; and Arnie Dienoff.

OPPONENTS: There was no opposition voiced to the committee.

OTHERS: Others testifying on the bill say they will find out the information requested by the committee in regard to how many Medal of Honor recipients there are from Missouri.

Testifying on the bill was Luke Reed, Missouri Department Of Transportation.

Written testimony has been submitted for this bill. The full written testimony can be found under Testimony on the bill page on the House website.