SPONSOR: Roden

This bill provides that, on or after July 1, 2022, the Board of Police Commissioners shall assume control of any municipal police force established in any city not within a county, which at this time is only St. Louis City. Upon such assumption any municipal police force within St. Louis City shall convey, assign, or otherwise transfer to the Board title and ownership of all debts and assets, and the state shall accept responsibility, ownership, and liability as successor-in-interest for contractual obligations, debts, and other lawful obligations of the municipal police forces established in St. Louis City.

The bill provides that the Board will employ, without change in pay or benefits, all commissioned and civilian personnel who were employed by the municipal police department prior to the date the Board assumed control. This bill specifies the rights and benefits afforded such personnel, as well as those who retire from service before the Board assumes control.

Currently, the Board of Trustees is comprised of nine members. This bill increases the number of trustees to 10 by adding the president of the Board of Police Commissioners of the city as an ex officio member of the Board of Trustees in which the general administration and responsibility of proper operation of the retirement system is vested. The bill also increases the number of trustees appointed by the mayor of the city from two members to three and reduces the retired members from three to two members.

This bill is similar to HB 1914 (2018).