HB 1254 -- MISSOURI TECHNOLOGY TASK FORCE

SPONSOR: Riggs

This bill establishes the "Missouri State Technology Task Force".

The mission of the Task Force shall be to evaluate the state's current technology platforms, research and evaluate technological advancements to apply to state systems, and recommend improvements to state technology systems to provide state agencies and citizens with more efficient and accessible records.

The Task Force shall consist of 17 members:

- (1) Three members of the House of Representatives, with two appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, including one member of the Committee on Emerging Issues, while the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives shall appoint one member;
- (2) Three members from the Senate, with two appointed by the President Pro Tem of the Senate, including one member from the Joint Committee on Appropriations, while the Minority Leader of the Senate shall appoint one member;
- (3) The Governor or the Governor's designee;
- (4) The Lieutenant Governor or the Lieutenant Governor's designee;
- (5) The Director of the MO HealthNet Division;
- (6) The Chief Information Officer of the Office of Administration, one member of the Information Technology Advisory Board of the Office of Administration, and one additional member of the Office of Administration; and
- (7) Five members, appointed by the Governor, with subject matter expertise in:
- (a) Missouri-based technology providers,
- (b) Cyber security,
- (c) Web-based communication services,
- (d) Electronic records and storage retention, and
- (e) Large-scale software implementation.

The Task Force shall submit a summary of its findings and recommendations to the General Assembly before August 28, 2022. The Task Force will be suspended on January 1, 2023, but will reconvene and resume its operations every two years beginning January 1, 2024.