HB 1268 -- JUDICIAL REALIGNMENT

SPONSOR: Hardwick

Currently, the Judicial Conference of Missouri is authorized to alter geographical boundaries and territorial jurisdiction of the judicial circuits by means of a circuit realignment plan. Under this bill, that authorization is reassigned to the "Judicial Realignment Commission", established in the bill. The purpose of the Commission is to provide diverse geographic representation and will include the following appointed members:

(1) The Chief Justice of the Missouri Supreme Court or his or her designee;

(2) One judge from the Court of Appeals to be appointed by the Chief Justice of the Missouri Supreme Court;

(3) Two circuit court judges to be appointed by the Chief Justice of the Missouri Supreme Court;

(4) Two associate circuit court judges to be appointed by the Chief Justice of the Missouri Supreme Court;

(5) Three members of the House of Representatives to be appointed by the Speaker, with no more than two members being from the same political party;

(6) Three members of the Senate to be appointed by the President Pro Tem, with no more than two members being from the same political party;

(7) The Executive Director of the Missouri Office of Prosecution Services;

(8) The Director of the State Public Defender System;

(9) One sheriff from any county of the third classification to be appointed by the Governor;

(10) One chief of police from any county with a charter form of government to be appointed by the Governor; and

(11) Two actively practicing attorneys to be appointed by the Governor.

The bill specifies the responsibilities of the Judicial Realignment Commission. The bill also establishes the "Judicial Realignment Fund", which must be used solely for the purposes provided in the bill.