SPONSOR: Davidson

COMMITTEE ACTION: Voted "Do Pass" by the Standing Committee on Elections and Elected Officials by a vote of 7 to 3. Voted "Do Pass" by the Standing Committee on Rules- Administrative Oversight by a vote of 7 to 5.

Upon voter approval, this proposed resolution requires that any initiative proposed by the people for a Constitutional amendment will require a majority vote of registered voters in the state to become effective. The registered voter total for passage is derived by defining such voters as the number of registered voters entitled to vote in the general, municipal, or primary election immediately preceding the election at which the proposed Constitutional amendment is to appear on the ballot.

Constitutional amendments proposed by the General Assembly will continue to require a majority of votes cast at the requisite election.

This resolution has ballot language provided by the General Assembly under Chapter 116, RSMo.

This resolution is similar to HJR 70 (2022).

PROPONENTS: Supporters say that the resolution explicitly applies only to Constitutional amendments proposed by the initiative petition process. Technical language changes mean that the resolution exactly matches the ballot language. There should be a very broad consensus in order to amend the state Constitution.

Testifying for the bill were Representative Davidson; and the Opportunity Solutions Project.

OPPONENTS: Those who oppose the bill say that only a very few proposed amendments could pass under this standard so that it effectively eliminates the right of initiative petition. The same standard should be applied to Constitutional amendments proposed by the General Assembly. Voters should always be able to rationally vote "yes" or "no" on an amendment, but because no one knows the voter turnout on election day, it is unclear whether or not one should bother to vote.

Testifying against the bill were Dorothy E Hatch; Eric Hadley; Lynn Busby; Michael; Susan Gibson; Theresa Loeffler; Tom Ferri; Carl Bettis; Carol A. Schreiber; Chloe Owens, Missouri Health Care for All; David James Mitchell; Dawn Banks; Evelyn Maddox; George Stair;

Getta R. Hall; James Lovell; Jarrett Pillsbury; Jessica Devoto; Kane Sheek, Missouri Sierra Club; Lauren Draper; Mahree; Michelle L Barry; Nancy Price; Riva Capellari; Sherry L Buchanan; Stephanie Rittgers; Susan Shumway; Tracy Grundy; Arnie C. Ac Dienoff; Cheryl Hibbeler; Jewish Community Relations Council; Deborah J Kitchen; Denise Lieberman, Missouri Voter Protection Coalition; Don Crozier; Elizabeth Franklin; Linda Rezny; Marla Marantz; Mary Lindsay; Melissa Vatterott, Missouri Coalition for the Environment; Monica M Huddleston; Pat Collins; Patricia O'Roark; Rachel Thompson; Riva Capellari; Tori Schafer, American Civil Liberties Union of Missouri; Jenna Roberson; Marilyn McLeod, League of Women Voters of Missouri; Missouri NEA; American Civil Liberties Union-Missouri; Jobs with Justice Voter Action; Becky Sue Cartmill; and Patricia Bartholome, League of Women Voters of Kanas City.

Written testimony has been submitted for this bill. The full written testimony can be found under Testimony on the bill page on the House website.