SS SCS SB 127 -- DESIGNATION OF INFRASTRUCTURE

SPONSOR: Thompson Rehder (Buchheit-Courtway)

COMMITTEE ACTION: Voted "Do Pass" by the Standing Committee on Transportation Infrastructure by a vote of 11 to 0. Voted "Do Pass" by the Standing Committee on Rules- Legislative Oversight by a vote of 9 to 0 with 1 present.

This bill makes designations of infrastructure. The bill:

(1) Adds Perry County to the region designated as the "German Heritage Corridor of Missouri" (Section 226.1150, RSMo). This provision is the same as HB 200 (2023).

(2) Establishes the "Stars and Stripes Historic Region of Missouri" (Section 226.1160). This provision is similar to SB 139 (2023), SB 849, and HCS/HB 1562 (2022).

(3) Specifies that the signs designating "Marine LCPL Jared Schmitz Memorial Bridge" in St. Charles County shall be placed along Interstate 70 as close to the bridge as practicable (Section 227.441).

(4) Modifies the portion of State Highway 30 in St. Louis County designated as "Officer Blake Snyder Memorial Highway" (Section 227.539).

(5) Designates the "Rev Dr Martin Luther King Jr Memorial Highway" in Poplar Bluff in Butler County (Section 227.798). This provision is the same as a provision in HB 1035 (2023).

(6) Designates the Missouri portion of the new bridge on State Highway 51 crossing over the Mississippi River in Perry County to the Missouri/Illinois state line as the "Don Welge Memorial Bridge" and directs the Missouri Department of Transportation to collaborate with the Illinois Department of Transportation in establishing and maintaining signs designating the bridge (Section 227.818). These provisions are similar to HB 487 (2023).

(7) Designates the "Police SGT Herschel Turner Jr Memorial Bridge" in St. Louis County (Section 227.819). This provision is the same as HB 67 (2023).

(8) Designates "James W Brooks Memorial Highway" in St. Louis City and St. Louis County (Section 227.820). This provision is the same as SB 216 (2023). (9) Designates the "SGT James L Shipley Memorial Highway" in Moniteau County (Section 227.821). This provision is the same as HB 44 (2023).

(10) Designates the "Representative Tom Hannegan Memorial Highway" in St. Charles County (Section 227.823). This provision is the same as HB 94 (2023).

(11) Designates the "Police Officer Blaize Madrid-Evans Memorial Highway" in Jackson County (Section 227.824). This provision is the same as HB 746 (2023).

(12) Designates the "Det. Antonio Valentine Memorial Bridge" in St. Louis and Jefferson Counties (Section 227.825.) This provision is the same as HB 528 (2023).

(13) Designates the "CPL Ben Cooper Memorial Bridge" in Newton County (Section 227.826). This provision is the same as SB 518 and HB 547 (2023).

(14) Designates the "Officer Timothy Nielson Memorial Bridge" in Newton County (Section 227.827). This provision is the same as HB 1021 (2023).

(15) Designates the "CPL Homer Hoover Schultz Memorial Highway" in Pulaski County (Section 227.828). This provision the same as HB 1055 (2023).

(16) Designates the "John Walter Basye Memorial Highway" in Pike County (Section 227.829).

(17) Designates the "Officer Walter W Farrow Memorial Highway" in Miller County (Section 227.831.) This provision is similar to HB 1166 (2023).

(18) Designates the "Sam Santhuff Memorial Highway" in the City of Fulton and Callaway County (Section 227.832).

(19) Designates the "Ethel Hedgemon Lyle Memorial Highway" in the City of St. Louis (Section 227.835).

(20) Designates the "Kaitlyn Anderson Memorial Bridge" in St. Louis County (Section 227.836).

(21) Designates the "Officer Daniel Vasquez Memorial Highway" in Clay County (Section 227.837).

PROPONENTS: Supporters say that all these designations are well-deserved.

Testifying in person for the bill was Senator Thompson Rehder.

OPPONENTS: There was no opposition voiced to the committee.