SECOND REGULAR SESSION

HOUSE BILL NO. 1473

102ND GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVE SANDER.

DANA RADEMAN MILLER, Chief Clerk

AN ACT

To repeal section 115.607, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to county political party committees.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 115.607, RSMo, is repealed and one new section enacted in lieu 2 thereof, to be known as section 115.607, to read as follows:

115.607. 1. No person shall be elected or shall serve as a member of a county or city committee who is not, for one year next before the person's election, both a registered voter of and a resident of the county or city not within a county and the committee district from which the person is elected if such district shall have been so long established, and if not, then of the district or districts from which the same shall have been taken. Except as provided in subsections [2, 3, 4, 5, and 6] 2 to 7 of this section, the membership of a county or city committee of each established political party shall consist of a man and a woman elected from each precinct, township, or ward in the county or city not within a county.

9 2. In each county of the first classification containing the major portion of a city which has over three hundred thousand inhabitants, two members of the committee, a man 10 and a woman, shall be elected from each ward in the city. Any township entirely contained in 11 the city shall have no additional representation on the county committee. The election 12 authority for the county shall, not later than six months after the decennial census has been 13 14 reported to the President of the United States, divide the most populous township outside the 15 city into eight subdistricts of contiguous and compact territory and as nearly equal in population as practicable. The subdistricts shall be numbered from one upward 16 consecutively, which numbers shall, insofar as practicable, be retained upon 17

EXPLANATION — Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in the above bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted from the law. Matter in **bold-face** type in the above bill is proposed language.

4089H.01I

HB 1473

18 reapportionment. Two members of the county committee, a man and a woman, shall be 19 elected from each such subdistrict. Six members of the committee, three men and three 20 women, shall be elected from the second and third most populous townships outside the city. 21 Four members of the committee, two men and two women, shall be elected from the other 22 townships outside the city.

23 3. In any city which has over three hundred thousand inhabitants, the major portion of 24 which is located in a county with a charter form of government, for the portion of the city located within such county and notwithstanding section 82.110, it shall be the duty of the 25 26 election authority, not later than six months after the decennial census has been reported to the President of the United States, to divide such cities into not less than twenty-four nor more 27 28 than twenty-five wards after each decennial census. Wards shall be so divided that the 29 number of inhabitants in any ward shall not exceed any other ward of the city and within the 30 same county, by more than five percent, measured by the number of the inhabitants determined at the preceding decennial census. 31

32 4. In each county of the first classification containing a portion, but not the major 33 portion, of a city which has over three hundred thousand inhabitants, ten members of the 34 committee, five men and five women, shall be elected from the district of each state 35 representative wholly contained in the county in the following manner: within six months after each legislative reapportionment, the election authority shall divide each legislative 36 37 district wholly contained in the county into five committee districts of contiguous territory as 38 compact and as nearly equal in population as may be; two members of the committee, a man 39 and a woman, shall be elected from each committee district. The election authority shall 40 divide the area of the county located within legislative districts not wholly contained in the 41 county into similar committee districts; two members of the committee, a man and a woman, 42 shall be elected from each committee district.

43 5. In each city not situated in a county, two members of the committee, a man and a44 woman, shall be elected from each ward.

6. In all counties with a charter form of government and a population of over nine hundred thousand inhabitants, the county committee persons shall be elected from each township. Within ninety days after August 28, 2002, and within six months after each decennial census has been reported to the President of the United States, the election authority shall divide the county into twenty-eight compact and contiguous townships containing populations as nearly equal in population to each other as is practical.

51 7. In each county with more than seven hundred thousand but fewer than eight 52 hundred thousand inhabitants, four members of the committee, two men and two 53 women, shall be elected from the district of each state representative wholly contained in 54 the county in the following manner: within six months after each legislative

HB 1473

55 reapportionment, the election authority shall divide each house of representatives 56 district wholly contained in the county into two committee districts of contiguous 57 territory as compact and as nearly equal in population as may be and wholly 58 incorporating political subdivisions wherever practicable; two members of the 59 committee, a man and a woman, shall be elected from each committee district.

8. If any election authority has failed to adopt a reapportionment plan by the deadline set forth in this section, the county commission, sitting as a reapportionment commission, shall within sixty days after the deadline, adopt a reapportionment plan. Changes of township, ward, or precinct lines shall not affect the terms of office of incumbent party committee members elected from districts as constituted at the time of their election.

 \checkmark