SPONSOR: Baringer

This bill establishes the "Missouri-Ireland Trade Commission" within the Department of Commerce and Insurance. The Commission is to advance bilateral trade between Missouri and Ireland, including mutual policy interests, economic support and investment in infrastructure, and business and academic exchanges.

Four members of the commission will be chosen from the Senate and House; four by the Governor; and four by the Director of the Department of Commerce and Insurance, to include one representative from a public higher education institution and one from the Missouri chamber of commerce. The members chosen from the General Assembly must have an interest in trade relations with Ireland, and two of the members chosen by the Governor must represent Irish-American communities.

The chair of the commission will rotate between a House member selected by the Speaker of the House in even-numbered years and a Senate member selected by the President Pro Tem in odd-numbered years. Members will hold office for a term of two years; elected representatives may serve only as long as they are in office.

The commission will meet at least twice annually and report to the Governor and General Assembly by February first each year. The commission is authorized to raise funds and accept gifts and grants to defray its costs and carry out its purposes. The Director will hold the funds for the commission. Commission members will not be paid but may be reimbursed for expenses.