FIRST REGULAR SESSION

HOUSE BILL NO. 1391

103RD GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVE MAYHEW.

2853H.01I JOSEPH ENGLER, Chief Clerk

AN ACT

To repeal section 478.705, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to associate circuit judges in the twenty-sixth judicial circuit.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:

4

8

Section A. Section 478.705, RSMo, is repealed and one new section enacted in lieu 2 thereof, to be known as section 478.705, to read as follows:

478.705. 1. There shall be three circuit judges in the twenty-sixth judicial circuit consisting of the counties of Camden, Laclede, Miller, Moniteau and Morgan. These judges shall sit in divisions numbered one, two, and three.

- 2. The circuit judge in division two shall be elected in 1980. The circuit judge in division one shall be elected in 1982. The governor shall appoint a judge for division three and notwithstanding the provisions of section 105.030, that judge shall serve until January 1, 2021. A judge for division three shall be elected in 2020.
- 3. There shall be one additional associate circuit judge in Miller County. This associate circuit judge shall not be included in the statutory formula for authorizing additional associate circuit judges per county as provided under section 478.320. The governor shall appoint such judge, and that judge shall serve until January 1, 2029. An associate circuit judge shall be elected in 2028.

✓