HB 801 -- US GRANT HERITAGE AREA

SPONSOR: Riggs

This bill establishes the "U.S. Grant Heritage Area" which consists of the following counties and the City of St. Louis:

Audrain Bollinger Callaway Cape Girardeau Cole Franklin Gasconade Iron Jefferson Madison Marion Mississippi Monroe Montgomery New Madrid Perry Pike

Shelby
St. Charles County

St. Francois

St. Louis County

Ste. Genevieve

Stoddard

Warren

Ralls Scott

Washington

The Missouri Humanities Council and the National U.S. Grant Trail Association, Missouri chapter, must formulate a management plan for the U.S. Grant Heritage Area and submit the plan to the Director of the Division of Tourism within the Department of Economic Development. The plan should be focused on protecting, enhancing and interpreting the cultural, historical, archaeological, natural, and recreational resources of the heritage area.

This bill is the same as HB 1808 (2024) and HB 308 (2023).